Coaching Strategies for Your Family Part 5

Posted: November 6, 2012 in Family

If you haven’t figured it out by now I’m a 49er fan. I remember watching John Brodie, Ken Willard and Gene Washington back in the 60’s. In the 70’s I loved watching Paul Hofer, Freddie Solomon and so many others. In 1979 Bill Walsh became head coach, Steve DeBerg was the starting quarterback and we had a rookie backup quarterback… what was his name? Joe… (he he he) Joe Montana! That first year with Bill Walsh and Joe Montana the 49ers went 2-14.

What’s my point? Every great coach and every great player takes responsibility for losses. They don’t make excuses, they don’t point fingers, and they don’t blame the environment (society). They look deep inside and take personal responsibility for their actions that may have contributed to the loss. Good parents should, no, must do the same. King David did. When the prophet, Nathan, exposed David’s sin he immediately confessed his sin, and took full responsibility. Then David said to Nathan, “I have sinned against the LORD.” Nathan replied, “The LORD has taken away your sin. You are not going to die. 2 Samuel 12:13 (NIV) Take a close look at this verse; David immediately confessed his sin and God immediately forgave him!

One of the greatest lessons we can teach our children is the wonderful forgiveness of God. God is rich in mercy and His love overflows with grace. As a father I want my life to reflect that kind of mercy, love, and grace so my children and grandchildren can experience God’s forgiveness when they make bad choices and wrong decisions. I want them to be able to come to me about whatever they are going through. I want them to know they can come to God for healing and forgiveness. I love the verse Isaiah 1:18 “Come now, let us reason together,” says the LORD. “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool.” (NIV)

Joe Montana started his football career as a backup quarterback to a 2-14 losing team, but ended his career with 4 Super Bowl rings and the reputation as being one of the greatest quarterbacks ever to play the game. Your children may never have the fame and fortune the world offers, but they can be more than conquerors through Christ who loves them. THAT’S MORE IMPORTANT THAN ANY SUPER BOWL RING! Those who stay faithful to Christ don’t get a ring, they get crown. I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, and I have remained faithful. And now the prize awaits me—the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will give me on the day of his return. And the prize is not just for me but for all who eagerly look forward to his appearing. 2 Timothy 4:7-8 (NLT)

PEACE

Leave a Reply

