Coaching Strategies for Your Family Part 2

Posted: September 21, 2012 in Family

When Bill Walsh took over a team with a 2-14 record he knew the key to transforming the losing mentality of the 49ers was to implement a totally different culture; one that was top-notch instead of toxic. He created a totally different way of thinking and acting that was based on high standards, hard work, and a commitment to being first-class in everything they did. I can’t think of any place more important to change the culture from discouragement to victory than in our own families.

Head Coach, (that’s you Dad) in order to change the culture of your home you need to value and invest in your assistant coach. My wife, Michelle, has been a great assistant coach and I value her more than words could express. I also have taken time to invest in her spiritual and emotional growth, giving her my attention, care and love. You will never change the atmosphere of your home if the coaches are not in unity.

Unity is crucial in every family so make sure you discuss your game plan with your assistant coach. Proverbs 15:22 Without good advice everything goes wrong— it takes careful planning for things to go right. (CEV) Your wife is your assistant—keep her informed. Honor her! Acknowledge Her! BUT REMEMBER, SHE’S NOT THE HEAD COACH, YOU ARE DAD! As husbands, we are vital in creating a winning attitude in our wives. Give her the support she needs to be a successful wife and mother. She will become the woman God intended her to be when she is connected to God’s love and knows she is loved by her man! Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her… Ephesians 5:25

Make sure the game plan for your family follows the rules. Get your game plan from the Bible. I had wonderful parents and I had a great childhood, but when it came to raising my two girls, I put my parents game plan aside and went to the Bible to develop a winning strategy for my family. Some well meaning people criticized my plan but that didn’t stop me. I knew this was God’s will for us. Did it work? My daughters love me, my wife is crazy about me, and I have five wonderful grandchildren that adore their Papa! (YES! THAT’S WHAT I’M TALKIN’ ABOUT!)

Bill Walsh had a great staff of assistant coaches that went on to be successful head coaches, George Seifert, Mike Holmgren, Mike Shanahan, Ray Rhodes, and Dennis Green, Sam Wyche and others. As you develop a winning culture you will develop a winning team that will go on to have winning families of their own.

More to come, PEACE

Leave a Reply

