Coaching Strategies for Your Family

Posted: September 14, 2012 in Family

I love NFL football. I love the action, the high quality play, and I love the drama (when my team wins of course). But what really intrigues me is the art of coaching. My favorite coach is the late Bill Walsh. He took the struggling 49ers and turned them into a dynasty. By the way, this IS NOT about football, it’s about family.

Dads, we are the head coaches for our families and we need a winning strategy in place if we want a successful season. Here’s where our stagey begins; Ephesians 6:4 Fathers, do not make your children angry, but raise them with the training and teaching of the Lord. (NCV)

In order for me to properly coach my team (my wife is the assistant coach, my children and grandchildren are the team) I have to have a godly game plan. We need a well thought through plan for our families! Proverbs 22:6 Train up a child in the way he should go [and in keeping with his individual gift or bent], and when he is old he will not depart from it. (AMP) That game plan includes letting your child play their best position! Let your child learn who they are in Christ and let them discover that they are wonderfully made by God. Not every boy is going to play in the NFL and not every girl will be a cheerleader. But every child is wonderfully made (Ps. 139:14).

Training begins before the season starts. Could you imagine what would happen if a team decided to skip preseason and wait for the week of the first game to start practicing? Not a good idea. Men, don’t wait for the first signs of trouble to get involved with your children. Get involved with them NOW! Talk to them about their day, play with them, and share the Word of God with them. How about this… sit down with them and help them with their homework! Dads, if you have a daughter, take her out on a date. If you have a son, treat his mom with love and honor. But, most of all, stay committed to your team, which is your family, until the last game of the season. For me, that’s when the Owner, God Almighty, calls me home.

More to come, PEACE

Leave a Reply

