SPIRITUAL REALITY CHECK

Posted: August 5, 2012 in Personal Thoughts

I’ve been having some reality checks come into my life lately. You know, the kind that expose a fault or weakness that you have that you don’t want anybody else knows about. Shocking isn’t it? David has faults! Pastor D has weaknesses and dare I admit, even sins? Don’t you judge me! (Romans 3:23-24)

How about you, having any reality checks lately?

In my morning time of reading the Bible I came across an interesting story about King Solomon’s son, Rehoboam, after he became king. With all the wisdom Solomon had it seems his boy didn’t have a clue. When the young man finally got his act together and became strong he, and all Israel with him, abandoned the law of the Lord. Not a smart move! The prophet of God came to him with a reality check, “This is what the LORD says, ‘You have abandoned me; therefore, I now abandon you…'” (2 Chronicles 12:5b)

OUCH! That’s gotta hurt! But these guys did something that most people today very seldom do… They admitted they messed up. Rehoboam and the leaders were sorry for what they had done and admitted, “The LORD is right. We have deserted him.” 2 Chronicles 12:6 (CEV)

I feel that most people today are more interested in finding fault and blame than admitting our struggles. I know one thing; it sure seems easier to find fault in others than to see faults in ourselves (maybe its that log in my eye that’s blocking my vision). Okay, back to the Bible story…

When the Lord saw that they humbled themselves and admitted their sin God gave them grace. But He also taught them a valuable lesson we all need to learn, 2 Chronicles 12:7-8 (TEV) …”Because they admit their sin, I will not destroy them. But when Shishak attacks, they will barely survive. Jerusalem will not feel the full force of my anger, but Shishak will conquer them, and they will learn the difference between serving me and serving earthly rulers.”

Have you ever thought that serving God was too hard? I’ve seen too much in my 30+ years of ministry to ever think that. Not serving God and serving the world is much harder. Me and “PAIN” don’t get along, but me and “GRACE” are tight! Serving God at first may seem difficult while doing your own thing will start out easy, the end result is where you see the difference. Let me paraphrase the Apostle Paul, if you keep doing what you want apart from God it will kill you. But if you let the Spirit of God lead your life you get blessings and glory. That’s why I welcome the spiritual realty checks in my life because the end result will be life to the fullest!

PEACE

Leave a Reply

