The Purpose for God’s Glory Part 3

Posted: July 26, 2012 in The Glory of God

When Michelle and I first got married we lived in a small apartment at 620 N. College Ave. just north of Belmont Ave. in Fresno. We paid $97.50 a month; today you can rent the same apartment for $600 a month. If you’re not sure where that is, it’s in the hood! We were very young and not yet serving the Lord so let’s just say things that happened at 620 N. College STAYED at 620 N. College.

One thing I would enjoy doing on a Saturday afternoon was to sit outside of our apartment, crank up my 8-track stereo and listen to Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes. One of my favorite songs was “If You Don’t Know Me By Now” a soulful ballad sung by Teddy Pendergrass. You need to understand that we were in love, but we really didn’t know each other.

The same was true about my Heavenly Father. I loved God from the moment He saved me April 15, 1980 but I didn’t know Him. That’s one of the wonderful things about the glory of God and the words of Jesus; we can get to know our Father in heaven.

“Righteous Father, though the world does not know you, I know you, and they know that you have sent me. I have made you known to them, and will continue to make you known in order that the love you have for me may be in them and that I myself may be in them.” John 17:25-26 (NIV)

God will manifest His glory so we can know Him personally, not just to know about Him. That happens through His glory coming down and His Word going in our hearts. Jesus came to earth to reveal the Father to this desperate world and He continues to make known the Father to all.

There is so much to know and so much to learn that every time I think I got it, something new and wonderful (or new and corrective) comes from God’s presence and His Word right into my life. The cool thing is God wants us to benefit from knowing Him personally. His glory is so much more than just knowing about God, its experiencing God every day. The Apostle Peter put it this way, “Everything that goes into a life of pleasing God has been miraculously given to us by getting to know, personally and intimately, the One who invited us to God. (MSG) …he even shares his own glory and his own goodness with us!” (TLB) 2 Peter 1:3 There is a catch to His glory though, it’s not only for our benefit or pleasure, it’s to equip us to please Him. I’ve made some dumb mistakes and violated scripture in my life (that’s fancy talk for “I sinned”) and I’m sure I have more dumb things to do, but the best thing I did after I got saved was to commit my life to pleasing God. And because of that commitment He has blessed me immensely and I know I don’t deserve the life I have, but I’m extremely grateful to God for His glory expressed to me over the years. Oh yes, one more thing… I love Michelle more today than yesterday, but not as much as tomorrow!

PEACE

Comments
  1. Ken says:

    Good word brother David!

Leave a Reply

