The Purpose for God’s Glory Part 2

Posted: June 22, 2012 in The Glory of God

There is an old chorus we used to sing that I love called “See His Glory”. Its one of those melodies with simple lyrics that can warm the heart. But because of my immaturity as a believer at that time in my life I was always under the assumption that we would see some type of outward manifestation of the glory of God that would transform our church. We had, and still do have some powerful experiences with God’s glory, but now that I’m older I have a deeper insight to the purpose for God’s glory.

God, the Father wants His glory to be seen by the world around us and the best way for that to happen is for the glory of God to be seen in us by everyone we come in contact with. Let me put it this way; when people look into our lives it should be like looking into a mirror and the reflection they see is the glory of God in us. 2 Corinthians 3:18 As all of us reflect the Lord’s glory with faces that are not covered with veils, we are being changed into his image with ever-increasing glory. This comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit. (GW) As we allow the Holy Spirit to do His life-changing work in us we reflect the glory of God. And if we are following God wholeheartedly people will see an ever-increasing glory from the Spirit of God!

Jesus prayed that this would be our reality in John 17:24, “Father, I want those you have given me to be with me where I am, and to see my glory, the glory you have given me because you loved me before the creation of the world. Jesus prayed two things that are our responsibility if we desire to reflect God’s glory 1) Jesus wants us to be with Him. He wants us in His presence. That takes a deliberate decision by us to “enter in”, to open our hearts to the super-natural presence of God. 2) Jesus wants us to be where He is. That implies movement. God is moving in powerful ways today, we must again make a deliberate decision to move with Him. I think the best way to move with Jesus is found in John 12:26, “Whoever serves me must follow me; and where I am, my servant also will be. My Father will honor the one who serves me.” Those who have committed their lives to serving Christ will be in a better position to see the glory of God. And those who understand that serving Christ means serving others with no strings attached and no expectations of receiving from the ones we serve, they will reflect an ever-increasing glory. The greatest manifestations of God’s glory in my life have come when I serve others in the power of the Spirit! May we all see His glory as we serve Him.

PEACE

Leave a Reply

