The Purpose for God’s Glory Part 1

Posted: June 3, 2012 in The Glory of God

I have a friend that has a very good habit, whenever something positive happens he will enthusiastically say, “Glory!” giving God praise for that particular moment. But my limited mind has trouble at times grasping this very important reality; the glory of God in our lives.

Before you jump to any wrong conclusions, I’ve experienced the glory of God and truly believe in the power of God’s glory but I think most people don’t really understand the purpose for God’s glory in our lives. Here are a couple of definitions for us to consider…

GLORY: visible sign of God’s greatness. Dignity, honor, praise, worship…

When God appeared to people, his glory was often seen as a bright light or as fire and smoke. Jesus’ glory was seen when he performed miracles, when he was lifted up on the cross, and when he was raised from death.—Contemporary English Version Dictionary

In John’s Gospel Jesus speaks (actually prays) about the purpose of God’s glory in our lives. The prayer is progressive; He begins praying for Himself, then for the disciples, and concludes by praying for people who would believe in Him through the message of the disciples (that’s some of us). Jesus prays that, as believers, we are to be in complete unity.

In John 17:21 He makes a remarkable statement, “…that all of them may be one,”. In this verse He gives us the possibility that ALL of the Church can be one. But then He gives us the standard, “Father, just as you are in me and I am in you…” WOW! Jesus prayed that we would have the same oneness as the Father and the Son! That’s a pretty tall order but, realize this, it is possible or Jesus would have never prayed that way.

Looking at the state of the Church throughout the world we are far from being united. Unity in the Church based on the unity of the Spirit must be a priority. It is crucial to the plans of God for the salvation of the world. “…May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me.” As we become one with the Father, the Son, the Holy Spirit, and with every believer, the world will see the beauty and splendor of the glory of God. More to come…

PEACE

Comments
  1. David Garibay says:

    I liked what you had to say , good stuff and I agree David

  2. dan buus says:

    Being one with the Father and the son is only accomplished by the Spirit. There are times when I am in the spirit that I actually feel one with the creator. But all I have to do is get around people and that feeling somehow vanishes. Unfortunately, I’m sure I’m not alone in that. But what that tells me is that if the body will ever join in that tremendous oneness, I am and, we are, going to have to come a long way in staying filled with the spirit. Learning to allow the supernatural power of God to control our lives is the key to true unity. Let’s learn together…
    .

    • Yes, Dan, I agree that being in unity with the Spirit is a challenge. But thank God unity is not a feeling but a reality, a daily pursuit.
      Paul wrote in Ephesians 5:18 (NIV) Do not get drunk on wine, which leads to debauchery. Instead, be filled with the Spirit.
      How did we get drunk back in the day? We drank! I want to “drink in the Spirit” everyday. That will result in me being one with God and one with my brothers and sisters that desire unity. Let’s also remember God commands unity in the body, not uniformity. We don’t have to sacrifice our uniqueness to obtain unity. It’s not how we get to unity its that we all strive for unity. If you get there in a car and I get there on bike the important thing is that we arrive in complete unity!

  3. rodney says:

    This feeling of unity is growing in the new situation with the merge, I’ll keep praying for men in the morning and the leaders that will bring power and glory to northeast and bring unity to everybody who calls on the name of Yah-weh. God is moving in so many different ways and like a fish, I feel he is gutting me(and other believers) to the bone and taking all the unclean stuff out so I (we) can serve him faithfully and wholeheartedly.

  4. bobby says:

    I sometimes feel like we are back in the day of Pharisees andSaducces, too much man made guidelines, my way or the highway. There is one Goid one Saviour and one Holy spirit, who changed the rules. It has been the same since Eden till today, Its Gods not ours, and if the church would get that in their spirit we would have more power from above to do the wiil of God to bring him Glory. I Loive the church but the church is not loving back lets return to our first love

    • Hi Bro. Bobby, I understand what you are saying. We have the only rule book we need, the Bible. If anyone ever tries to make you do things that are not in the Bible let them know that’s not an option for you. We both are a part of the Church and we can both make it better. The Bible says sometimes you have to cut some people off if they are not living according to God’s Word. Unity does not mean uniformity. God created us different, unique, but we can achieve unity in spirit by the power of the Holy Spirit. That is my goal.

Leave a Reply

